10 Things I Learned While Writing the First Draft.

 

It’s been 15 days since I started working on my first draft for the novella that I intend to write and publish. Here are the few things I learned in this journey that has just begun and this draft is my first step towards the huge task that I have taken up:

  1. Research is essential before starting the first draft and Google is our best friend.
  2. Plot outline helps eliminate the writer’s block.
  3. Show; don’t tell strategy didn’t work with my first draft. At first I used Tell; don’t show strategy to complete the raw draft else I would be stuck in the first chapter forever. I plan to Show, not tell, in my second draft.
  4. I had to curb my urge to edit the draft as I wrote. Don’t look back was the mantra I told myself over and over again.
  5. The character sketches may change as we advance in our story.
  6. New characters can be introduced in the story that are non-existent in the plot outline to make the story more convincing.
  7. Keep it short; we can weave the elaborate scenes and dialogues in the second draft.
  8. Friends can be helpful in finding loopholes in the outline of the story told so far. We can tell them the story even over the phone to get their feedback or suggestions. It helps.
  9. Reading our first draft may make us feel elated about completing the first milestone. At the same time we may feel that it’s the worst piece of work we have ever read. Don’t fret. A lot is yet to be done.
  10. This is just the beginning. The real work starts after completion of the first draft. There’s still a long way to go.

I have promised myself a week long break after the first draft.

Till then, happy reading and happy writing!!! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

